Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Ayurveda and the Four Aims of Life

According to the Vedic tradition life has four legitimate goals, or aims: Dharma, Artha, Kama, Moksha.  Dharma means (among other things) "duty," and "performance of one's natural abilities in context of societal responsibility."  Artha, means "wealth," or "resources," particularly in performance of one's duties. Kama indicates "enjoyment," or "satisfying" one's legitimate desires. Moksha,shows the need to go beyond duty, possessions, or desires.  It is "liberation," the ultimate freedom.   All four goals are important to a well-rounded life. 

"Health" is the foundation of these four goals.  You have to have a healthy body and mind to have a life well lived. Each day, one must give attention to doing things good for well-being and, at the same time, minimize those behaviors, activities, and influences that are detrimental to health.  There are no short cuts and no one can do it for us.  If we don't make the effort or take time for our health, some dis-ease or another will almost surely force us to slow down and take a look at what put us in that predicament. 

Ayurveda (the ancient Science of Life) is a system of self healing that helps us actively participate in creating good health.  Like an owner's manual of healthy living, Ayurveda can guide us on the road to vibrant health in terms of proper diet, lifestyle, yoga, meditation, seasonal protections, daily routine, and much more.  Many excellent books on Ayurveda are now available.  Please take the time to learn what this ancient science of healing can do to help you create health and fulfill the four aims of life. 

James Pace, CAy

Yoga Plus Herbs, Marlboro Plaza, Intersection of Rte 9 and Rte 520 in Marlboro, NJ 07726, 732-617-2020,, info at yogaplusherbs dot com

No comments:

Post a Comment